Diego F. Aranha

Diego F. Aranha

Associate Professor, Aarhus University

I am an Associate Professor in the Department of Computer Science at Aarhus University, Denmark, where I conduct research in cryptographic engineering and security of real-world systems. I also lead the Cybersecurity Work Package at DIGIT and contribute to COBRA as Principal Investigator.

I have received two Google Latin America Research Awards for privacy, and the MIT TechReview’s Innovators Under 35 Brazil Award for my work in electronic voting.

Research Interests

  • Efficient secure cryptography in software
  • Elliptic Curve Cryptography (ECC) and Pairing-Based Cryptography (PBC)
  • Security in Wireless Sensor Networks (WSNs) and the Internet of Things (IoT)
  • Side-Channel Analysis (SCA) and countermeasures
  • Cryptography based on physical assumptions (PUFs)
  • Privacy-preserving computing
  • Computational anonymity
  • Electronic voting
  • Systems security

Professional experience

  • Aarhus University, 2020-Present

    Associate Professor

  • Aarhus University, 2018-2020

    Assistant Professor

  • University of Campinas, 2014-2018

    Assistant Professor

  • University of Brasilia, 2011-2014

    Assistant Professor

  • CertiVox/MIRACL, 2010-2011

    Consultant and contractor


  • Ph.D. in Computer Science, 2017-2011

    Institute of Computing, University of Campinas

  • Visiting Ph.D. student, 2010-2011

    Combinatorics & Optimization, University of Waterloo

  • M.Sc. in Computer Science, 2005-2007

    Institute of Computing, University of Campinas

  • B.Sc. in Computer Science, 2000-2005

    Department of Computer Science, University of Brasilia

Invited Talks



Currently (co-)supervised PhD students:

  • Marius Aardal (with Bas Spitters)
  • Antonio Guimarães Jr. (co- with Edson Borin)
  • Benjamin Salling Hvaas (with Bas Spitters)
  • Pedro Geraldo Morelli Rodrigues Alves, now at Zama


  • Akira Takahashi (co- with Claudio Orlandi), graduated 2022, now postdoc at Protocol Labs
  • Jheyne Nayara Ortiz (co- with Ricardo Dahab), graduated 2022, now postdoc at UNICAMP
  • Amanda Cristina Davi Resende, graduated 2021, now faculty at UFCAT
  • Narcise Bang Mbiang (co- with Emmanuel Fouotsa), graduated 2020


  • Karina Mochetti, now faculty at UBC